Where have I been, you ask? Or: Another numbered list.

I have been a seriously absentee blogger, and I apologize for that.  Lots has happened, and I’m about to give you a quick run down to fill you in.  Some seriously important, some not so important, but you’re gonna get it all.  Ready?  Hold on to your seat.

1)  I lightened my hair a little bit… only about two levels (to a 7, from a 5, to be exact – those of you in the hair industry will get what I’m saying).  Just barely noticeable to the naked eye… in fact, I didn’t get many comments on it, which is exactly what I was going for.  I had just earned a pretty good tan when I decided to make the change, which is, I’m guessing, why not many people noticed… it simply looks as though my hair lightened in the sun while my skin was getting bronzed.  I left the area closest to the scalp and some of the underneath/back a bit darker to look more natural, and though it was a little weird at first (I’m sooooo conservative with my own haircolor – shocking, I know, coming from one who has shaved her head and sported a mohawk for a while now), I’ve grown to love it in a little over two weeks.  In other hair-related news, I’ve decided to just texturize it myself from here on out, and attempt growing it out… again.  We’ll see how long it lasts.

Subtle, no?

2) I have hardly been wearing any makeup and I freaking love it.  Day to day, if I have to go anywhere, I’ll do with just a light dusting of Bare Minerals, a swipe of mascara, and a pretty pop of color on my lips.  Most days it’s nothing, though.  I’m SO excited about this.  I credit this to my religious regimen of Arcona, which has been keeping my skin clear without fail, and which I talked about first in this post.  (Probably has to do a bit with my tan, too.)

3) I found a natural deodorant I like, for now.  Back in April, I switched from my hardcore, clinical-strength antiperspirant to an all natural, powder deodorant called LifeStinks.  It worked well enough but about a month ago, I started experiencing a bit of burning pit-irritation (awesome, right?)… which led me to endless researching of other brands of natural deodorant, and even to research some natural deodorant recipes that I could make myself.  I knowwww, I’m a crazy hippy.  We’ve been over this, people.

What? I have to keep it in the fridge!

THIS is the recipe that I tried (pictured above), which works well enough in the smell department (seriously! no smells!), but still gives me a bit of irritation, which is a major bummer.  For now, I’ve resorted to using a natural deodorant that I read about online, and found on the shelf at Whole Foods, a brand called Jason (I got the soothing aloe vera one, since my pits needed a little TLC). [EDIT: Jason was just not cutting it, people… multiple applications a day and still stinky?  No thanks.  I made a well-worth-it splurge on Lavanila, sold at Sephora or online, which got rave reviews from my bestie and life advisor… it’s amazing and you all should go buy it immediately.  I personally love the Vanilla Coconut scent, which is slightly sweet but fades with wear.)

4) I figured out what the HUGE ominous bug lingering around my patio was (pictured above): a mud-dauber.  EEK!  I caught it mid-progress building a little mud-hut for  its larvae on the side of our patio table, which immediately prompted a google image search to figure it out… bleeeughhhh, even the word larvae grosses me out to no end.  Anyway, once it had flown off, Tim and I decided to dismantle its larva-pot and let me tell you: I WISH I HAD TAKEN A PICTURE, just to gross you all out.  Little green wormies spilled everywhere, which we promptly swept up and launched over the balcony railing.  A little part of me felt sad for the mommy mud-dauber, who would come back to find her nest and babies destroyed… especially after reading that the species, though it looks menacing enough, is not aggressive and will rarely sting a human.  :(

The chicken pictured here is not free-range… and this’ll be the last time you see it atop any salad of mine.

5) I came to a conclusion about my diet the way I want to eat.  Last week, while Tim was out of town, I holed myself up in the apartment for a few rainy days to watch a zillion documentaries on netflix that I knew he wouldn’t want to watch with me (clearly, I am awesome).  I ended up wide-eyed, watching a few that horrified me or at least grossed me out enough and made me feel terrible as an animal lover that I was supporting factory farming and the awful conditions these animals must endure for much of their miserable lives, most of them diseased and pumped full of chemicals, before being slaughtered and served up as dinner.  Living on a 90% Paleo diet myself, I was fraught with guilt and faced with a serious decision: to go veg or not to go veg?  Since this is not a fitness/diet blog per se, and since I have written extensively about it on my primarily fitness/health-centered tumblr, if you’re interested, feel free to read more about my week trying vegan and incorporating grains back into my diet over there.  If you’re not interested in the details, here’s the short version: I’ve decided NOT to fully abandon Paleo, as it is the way of eating my body responds to best (in my opinion)… but that I am DEFINITELY going to be more mindful of where my meat is coming from, eat less of it, and focus on a plant-based diet.  With a little help from a new cookbook (I couldn’t resist), I’m excited to make my veggies a bit more exciting.  Like I said, check out the long version of the story on tumblr.

6) Tim and I have been spending more time enjoying ourselves and less time stressing out.  We are so blessed to live in a place so beautiful – it is an absolute crime not to make time to enjoy it.  So we’ve been making a real effort to do so during his time at home… and it has been amazing.

7) I decided, I think, that I might want to have a baby.  Someday.  I have no idea what prompted this “flipping of a switch” so to speak… from almost absolutely 99.9999% decided on my contentedness to never bear children, my somewhat annoyance with children and consequently, their parents… to… yep, I could find out I was preg tomorrow and be not only okay with it, but also, pretty pumped.  Is this completely weird?!  Before anyone gets their panties in a twist about this – it’s not happening anytime soon.  I’ve still got the Mirena in and have no plans to have it removed anytime soon, until we are absolutely positive we’re ready for whatever might happen.  I guess I just started thinking about my own childhood, how great my parents were with my sister and I, what an amazing life I’ve had and how much my parents loved (and still love!) me, talking to Tim about his childhood and growing up, the fun things about our childhood that we remember and cherish, the things our parents taught us and the relationship we have with our families… sigh.  It just made me a little sad to think that one day we might be old and wrinkly and never have shared life with a child.  And then of course I thought about what an amazing dad Tim would be, and how there is no one in the world I’d rather have a baby with.  AAAH, OKAY STOP.  Not happening right now, but it’s kind of funny how we’ve talked about it and we’re both on the same page… which is something that has changed for both of us (both having not wanted children or not being sure before).  We’re growing up!  (P.S. Plus, how cute would that little bugger be?)

8) AAAnd, last (I think) but not least, I got a job.  I’ve been doing hair here at home, as planned, but my handful of clients can hardly qualify it as a full-time job, and I was starting to get bored, and sad, and just all-around down about what I’m doing with my life and even moreso, what I’m not doing.  I’ve been struggling, as you’re aware, with the idea of departing fully from my “hairstylist” identity, but it’s getting easier as I realize more and more that I just need to do what makes me happy – it’s that simple.  Anymore, my day to day consists of putting a great deal of focus on my health and well-being, my nutrition and my fitness… it’s extremely interesting to me, I enjoy doing it, and it keeps me busy, particularly while Tim is traveling.  A few months ago, I was recruited to apply for a job as an educator at Lululemon Athletica, but couldn’t even consider it, expecting my unpredictable schedule with Aquage would make it virtually impossible to accept even a part-time position.  I can’t say that I immediately thought of Lululemon when I left Aquage… the truth goes probably a little more something like this: a month passed and I was getting bored and depressed and feeling useless and basically just wanting something to do with my brain!  THAT is when I remembered Lululemon.  How awesome does arriving to work in yoga pants, a sports bra, and flip-flops sound (among a zillion other perks)?  I’m in.  I called, I submitted an application, I interviewed (twice), and… they liked me.  I start in a few months, which is perfect… just after our vacation with Tim’s family to North Carolina.

Yes.

I’m mostly looking forward to this job… to get my mojo back.  To get out there again.  To try new types of exercise (advanced yoga? pilates? climbing?).  To be involved in something that feels good!  And to explore a new realm of possibility… already my wheels are turning.  What might this become?

I. feel. so. good.

Hope everyone else has been doing as awesome.  :)

xx

e

4 thoughts on “Where have I been, you ask? Or: Another numbered list.

  1. Oh Erin – the fierce & free spirited soul is back! I have missed your writing (and you!) :) I have a massive response for you (thought I would return the favour, yo…)

    1. I love the hair colour and completely understand what you mean about being conservative with colour choice.
    I think sometimes when choosing a bold cut (such as your awesome crop), going conservative with the colour balances it out. Let me know how the ‘growing of the hair’ goes… I feel your pain… it has been 9 months since my beloved mohawk… and I am doing everything I can not to give in to frustration and cut it off.

    2. I think when I visit the US I must look into this Arcona regimen you are following… I am intrigued.

    3. Win win for the crazy hippy! How awesome do you feel knowing that you can make it all yourself? Is it working? Does it smell weird?

    4. Gross gross and gross… but, I dare you to come to Australia and experience our multitude of bugs. I kid you not, they are surreal and oh so terrifying!

    5. This is a debate that I have had with myself over and over… and I really how you position your food choices around ‘the way you want to eat’ – I think I must get involved in this bandwagon… although I don’t know how Craig will take to this, hehe. What has been your favourite recipe so far?

    6. I love seeing you and Tim exploring the beautiful places around you, its so gorgeous to see two people who are all about each other and just want to be where the other person is all the time. How often does Tim go away for work? What is your favourite place for the two of you to visit on a weekend?

    7. Your little bugger (when and if you decide to bring them into the world) will be such a gift to the world. The best of you and Tim, all your passions, values, loves and experiences to be filled into their little life… man, what a wonderful thought! But I agree with you… you have to be 100% ready. what was the greatest experience you had as a kid with your sister and your parents…? I love how you say that Tim would be an amazing dad… I think the same of Craig (what wonderful men we have, hehe)

    8. Amen to you getting up and taking life by the castanas and saying ‘I want this for me!” – this is so exciting Erin! Go you!
    Here’s to this fabulous new journey you are on just for you to fill your heart (body, mind and spirit too) with all the happiness & nourishment that the world has to offer. You never know what the new realm of possibility is going to open up (and guess what?! Its already starting… )

    All my love from sunny (and freezing) Sydney! (and please forgive my ‘ad nauseum’ comment, oops!)

    • Eva, you are so sweet! I love the thought you put into your comments – seriously warms my heart. Arcona is awesome… can’t you get it in Australia? A bit pricey, but worth it… I even got Tim hooked on it. And the cookbook gets a thumbs up – I’ve been cooking from it all week, making my veggies the star and meat more of the side dish. We ARE still eating meat, just less of it, and making sure it’s organic/grass fed/free range or that it comes from a reputable local farm when we do. I LOVE eating Paleo – getting rid of grains was quite possibly the best thing I did for my gut, and I can’t go back (as I experienced major gut-distress and bloat this past weekend trying!). Just having a “cleaner” diet in general is my ideal. As for the bebe thing… not anytime soon but it’s kind of exciting even to think that we have changed our minds on this topic! Tim travels a LOT for work (every other week he flies across the country to the west coast), which he’s already voiced concerns about if I were to be home alone with a wee one… so no plans for that major life change until his job can involve less travel.
      I had a client this morning tell me this morning that I seemed different – confident and happy… it was just the validation and pat on the back I needed. I’m definitely making the choices that are right for ME, and it feels pretty good! Thanks for all your sweetness across the miles! :) xx
      P.S. How cold is it there?? 90F here and rainy today!

  2. Pingback: Sunrise Yoga with Lululemon | The Heyday Diaries

Leave a Reply

