What Happens When You’re In A Funk?

Guess what?

I’m human.

And like most people, sometimes I get into a funk. Something, maybe just a stupid, little thing, bothers me and if I don’t immediately catch myself and change my thinking, before I know it, my day has spiraled out of control, I’m not getting things accomplished, and I’m running late for everything… those consequences then in turn make me even more upset and the circle continues.

That was the story of my life yesterday. I had a slew of things on my “teux-deux” list, and by the time I finally rolled out of bed (a few snooze-hits later), I was already running behind. I had some negativity lurking in the back of my mind, the details of which aren’t worth mentioning here, and it just stuck with me like a black cloud all day long. I procrastinated on my list, I rescheduled a few things for another day, and I was late for a class, just late enough that I wasn’t able to even take it… nevermind that I had driven 45 minutes in traffic to get there. By that time, it was nearing the end of the day and I couldn’t take it anymore. I had let one negative thought turn into a slew of negative thoughts and corresponding negative feelings in my body… it had become a cancer that I let take over and destroy my entire day.

Sadly, this happens to most of us at some point or another. The question is, how do we deal with it? Do we recognize it and stop it in its tracks, count our blessings and move on in our day with a grateful heart, looking for the good in every situation we encounter? Or do we fester in our negativity, honing in on our misery, only making it worse and in turn making others miserable around us?

After finally becoming painfully aware of what I had done, I knew I needed to shift my energy to a more positive state. I drove home, put on some relaxing, meditative music, did some deep yin stretching on my newly cleared patio, and just breathed. Not surprisingly at this point, it felt like they were the first breaths I had taken all day.

20121010-112054.jpg

Man, yoga is doing wonders for me.

I enjoyed the evening chatting with a girlfriend over a bottle of syrah and some good, clean food, and went to bed feeling grateful, though still slightly beat-up from my day.

***

This morning, I was headed off to an appointment, giant, stinky garbage bag in hand to drop at the compactor on my way out, when a heard a huge truck coming around the corner… I didn’t look up, until the driver honked at me. I was about to load my bag into the trunk of my car, when the driver of the truck waved at me. I initially suspected he was being a creep (naturally), but then I noticed it was a garbage truck, and he was signaling for me to give him my bag so that I didn’t have to cart it all the way across the parking lot! He hopped out of the truck and took it from me, smiling the entire time. It made my morning, so much so that I felt compelled to share my story with four other people, and now with you.

Once at the chiropractor, I was greeted with smiling faces, and complimented on my muscle definition! Typing this now seriously brings a huge smile to my face and even makes me laugh a little – if you had told me a year ago that one day my doctor would be complimenting me on my muscle gains, I would have looked at you like you had three heads! Not only were the compliments well-received, but I was then told how much I was appreciated, and how my doctor wished she could have “all Erins” for patients. I was speechless! The warm, fuzzy feelings were coming from every direction this morning.

Back at home, I made myself some breakfast and my mind drifted back to the black cloud from yesterday. Within 5 seconds of thinking that negative thought, I managed to stub my toe, spill my breakfast, and burn my hands on scalding water. Though my initial reaction was @#$)(*&%!!!!, I had to laugh at myself and at the hilarity of God’s way of telling me to knock it off!! He had just given me a beautiful morning filled with multiple reasons to smile, and here I was, screwing things up by bringing that negative thought into the picture! Lesson learned.

So, next time you start feeling in a funk, step back and recognize what’s going on, and that you have the power to change it by simply making up your mind to do so.

Leave a Reply

