A resolution for ME.

In the midst of holiday prep chaos, sporadic work schedules, endless business travel, yoga and barre classes, and attempting to have some sort of social life… today, I found a brief moment of peace.

As Wednesdays are the day I typically devote to my hair clients, I had an appointment this morning and then, after receiving a last-minute cancellation… I had the afternoon OFF. WITH NO PLANS. Nothing on my teux-deux list, the apartment already sparkling clean, errands done yesterday… what WAS this strange phenomenon?! An afternoon off?!! Insanity!

So I opened the windows to let some fresh, cool air in (finally!), and I TOOK. A. NAP. And it was the most glorious nap I have had in… well, I don’t remember the last time I had a nap, actually…

And I spent an hour or so on the balcony, with the pups, and a cup of tea, just soaking in the afternoon sunshine, breathing deep, and relaxing… not a single piece of technology in sight. No phone. No iPad. No laptop. Not even a watch. It was a little piece of heaven… one I’ve been missing since I started working full time again, and one I need to consciously seek out more often: me time.

20121220-135256.jpg

Tim and I recently started carving some time out of our Sundays to set weekly goals, and one of this week’s goals for me was to write on the blog. It’s something I’ve let slip away over the past month and a half, letting work or fitness or everyday errands take priority. Every time I thought about writing, I got a little bummed out, missing my “fix” of posting on the reg, and feeling like too much time had passed… where to pick up? I loved writing and posting photos, keeping everyone near and far up to date on my world, but another day would pass and it just got harder and harder to come back.

So here I am, with a weekly goal to stick to. But I’m not writing because of the goal. I’m writing because I enjoy it. I want to write. I need it. It’s mine. For me. Just like I need to spend time on the balcony in the fresh air. Just like I need yoga but I know if I don’t set a goal to go to at least 3 classes a week, I may not remember to make it a priority to go. And then, the not going takes its toll and by the end of the week I’m a ball of anxiety and totally out of breath. I need to go, and I need the goal to get me there.

How often do we let life carry us away in its day to day, getting caught up in work and commitments and getting from point A to point B to point C with no time in between to focus on ourselves? This afternoon, as I relaxed on the balcony, I thought about how long it had been since I enjoyed a moment sitting in that chair, one of the chairs that I was so excited about in my last post… I had raved about my balcony being perfect, finally, with a beautiful rug, two gorgeous chairs and a table, candles, plants and flowers, just perfect for sitting and relaxing and enjoying the beautiful winter weather. And then what happened? Nearly two months pass and I haven’t spent nearly as much time out there as I had hoped. What the hell.

With a new year around the corner, I think it’s only fitting I start thinking about some resolutions I want to keep for 2013. Let’s start with this one: I make time for me. What does that look like? I commit to yoga at least 3x a week, preferably more. I write on the blog twice a week because I love it and I miss it when I don’t. I spend time on the balcony I worked so hard to get just right. I say “no” when I don’t want to do something or when my schedule is getting crowded. I sit down at the dinner table with my husband and give thanks to God before enjoying each meal. I go to bed at a decent hour. I enjoy a glass of red wine every now and then, maybe even some chocolate. I go on dates with my husband.

I take care of myself, I breathe deeply, and I love life… then, I take care of others.

Man, it feels good to type that.

What resolutions will you be making this year?

 

Leave a Reply

