A Week’s Worth of Vegetarian Dinners – Part Two… A Lesson in Non-Attachment

Ready for the recap?  If you recall from my last post, here’s what I had planned:

Monday: Poached Eggs & Samosa Hash

Tuesday: Eggplant Pizzas

Wednesday: English Pea & Tarragon Frittata

Thursday: Hummus Quinoa Cakes

Friday: Roasted Root Vegetables with Lentils & Ricotta

Now… here’s what actually happened: 

Monday: Poached Eggs & Samosa Hash

Tuesday: Layered Eggplant

Wednesday: Roasted Root Vegetables with Lentils

Thursday: Leftover Layered Eggplant

Friday: English Pea Frittata

Monday, we did have Poached Eggs and Samosa Hash.  Though it was originally a paleo breakfast recipe, I swapped out the ground chicken for lentils (as another pinner had suggested).  It was a little spicy for my palate, and I made the mistake of adding in too much fresh cilantro (which made for a bitter aftertaste) but Tim didn’t seem to notice and went back for seconds.  Bonus points!  I tossed the leftover lentil mixture into a ziploc bag and into the freezer for another meal at a later date.

IMG_0247

It’s not the prettiest… right? Though I wasn’t totally sold, it has potential and with a little tweaking, could be really delicious.

Tuesday morning, I picked up my organic produce share and as I was washing prepping veggies, I realized that, with all the meals I had planned, I was making a lot of work for myself, particularly when Tim would be out of town for at least two dinners in and – let’s face it – when he’s not here, I eat leftovers or whatever’s easy to heat up for myself.  Part of the fun of preparing a meal is having someone to prepare it for… for the oohs and aahs!!  Not that I don’t fix myself a pretty plate when he’s gone – but I don’t usually make an entirely new meal unless I’m REALLY bored.  Having a ton of studying to do this week meant, chances were, I would not be bored.

Tuesday night I sliced up eggplant I got and prepared a quick layered version of this eggplant pizza recipe of Julia Child’s.  I didn’t follow the recipe exactly… I doctored up what was left of a jar of Rao’s Homemade marinara sauce (totally worth the $9 at Whole Foods – I can and will eat it straight from the jar with a spoon), and pretty much tossed everything in a casserole dish for easy leftovers.  I love making a layered eggplant parmesan (with almond flour) but the double dipping and then frying up batch after batch of eggplant slices and layering everything gets tedious, so I usually save it for a day when I don’t mind being in the kitchen for a few hours.  Putting the eggplant slices in the oven to bake before layering was a much quicker route and saved me the step of salting and pressing the moisture out. The resulting dish was just as comforting and hearty as my usual dish… YUM.

IMG_0268

Because I had the foresight to wash and prep my veggies when I brought them home on Tuesday morning, I had already diced up my root vegetables (which was initially planned for Friday night’s dinner).  Since they were already prepped and ready to go, and since I had reserved some lentils (plain) from Monday night’s dinner, I opted to roast up the veggies on Tuesday night and pack this meal for my lunch/dinner at work on Wednesday and eat leftovers of eggplant on Thursday.  Couldn’t be much easier than that, people.

IMG_0274

It may not look pretty but the roasted root veggies were SO GOOD – and so easy!

I was so excited to get fresh spring peas in my produce share this week that I wanted to find a recipe that would put them to good use.  A frittata was the perfect option to fix for dinner tonight… not only will I be able to easily pack it in my lunch tomorrow, but it will be a quick and easy option for Tim to reheat for his own breakfast/lunch/dinner tomorrow as well.  Again, I didn’t follow the recipe exactly (notice a trend?) – I used basil instead of tarragon because I have a big pot of it on my porch (and I was lazy and didn’t feel like going out to buy tarragon) and I had a little bit of mild vegetarian white cheddar in the fridge, so I topped off the frittata with it before broiling it to perfection and serving it up alongside some spring greens and fresh tomatoes (which also came in my produce share – yummy!).  It was pretty amazing and I’ve come to realize I don’t make frittata nearly enough.  I seriously need to make it once a week.  It’s so easy and so satisfying.

IMG_0306

IMG_0310

The Hummus Quinoa Cakes didn’t make the cut this week but they’ll be on a menu in the not-too-distant future I’m sure.

The moral of the story, kids?  Non-attachment.  I’m a planner – I love to have a schedule, a routine, a map of where I’m going.  Ask anyone who knows me (particularly Tim) – my calendar and teuxdeux.com are my best friends, and if you took them away, I might momentarily feel like I lost a limb.  But yoga has been teaching me not only physical flexibility but flexibility of… life.  We can’t plan everything, no matter how hard we try or how much we want to.  I could give you a list a mile long of the things in my life right now that are requiring me to practice non-attachment, but I’ll save that for another post. ;)  This week’s lesson in non-attachment was brought to me by meal-planning.

Off to do some more studying before hitting the pillow… I’ve got a long day of teacher training ahead of me tomorrow!

xo

e

 

Leave a Reply

