TBT: Musical Memory Lane

Jumping on the Throw-Back-Thursday bandwagon and thinking about making it a regular thing. What do you think?

I took a little inspiration from Bridget of Tales of Me and the Husband on this one… she created a similar post last a couple weeks ago and I thought it was such a great idea. Because who out there doesn’t have a memory attached to 80% of the songs they hear/listen to? Exactly. So here we go:

2014-05-08 10.26.07

Where Are You Going by Dave Matthews Band… This was the first song on a cd my sister made for me when I moved to Florida (the first time)… to this day when I hear it, I get tears in my eyes! 

Born to Fly by Sara Evans… This was on Bridget’s list and I couldn’t not include it on mine, too. I listened to this album on repeat during basically EVERY single 3-hour road trip back and forth from college to home for 4 years. Four-thirty was probably my favorite song on that album. SO GOOD to sing at the top of your lungs! Heyy-eeeyyyeeeeeeeee…!!

Just for Now by Imogen Heap… I discovered Imogen shortly after the release of Garden State (um, favorite movie ever, I heart Zach Braff, etc.), and became instantly obsessed with her music and her voice. Upon googling the crap out of her (because that’s what I do), I discovered this INSANELY AWESOME VIDEO that changed the way I heard her music forever. I’ve made Tim watch this and we have both watched it probably 700 times since. Side note: this was also when I started blogging for reals and had a little blog on Typepad (can’t even remember what it was called), and spent evenings obsessing over another Typepad blog written by an Australian college student who was studying textiles and always making the cutest clothes for herself and dresses for her Blythe dolls… so weird, I know. Weird things fascinate me. I would pore over pretty pictures of dolls and listen to Imogen. Don’t judge me.

Wincing the Night Away by the Shins… For a brief portion of my career, I was a wedding planner, and spent a lot of my time in the car driving to appointments with vendors and clients all over South Florida from Jupiter to South Beach. This album – amazing from track 1 through track 11 – was in my cd player for months. Favorite song? Definitely Sea Legs… that beat, those lyrics – insanely good stuff.

Red Red Wine by UB40… I would like to share with the world that I was listening to UB40 long before my high school and college friends thought they were cool. Many a summer road trip to the Carolinas were spent listening to the UB40 cassette tapes (that’s right) of my (cool) parents after they were introduced to the band by my (also cool) uncle. Pretty sure if someone popped one of those babies in (to the nearest cassette player, of course), I’d still have every word down.

Just Breathe by Telepopmusik… This totally reminds me of living in our apartment in Jupiter. Winter nights, specifically, because I always remember playing the Telepopmusik Pandora station, burning fall-smelling candles, having the lights dimmed and all the windows open so the cool breeze could blow through while we sipped red wine and ate fancy cheese and olives. Um, whooaaa. Can we please go back to that now, because that sounds amazing. Sigh.

I can think of a million more but I’ll save those for a future TBT post when I can TBT to THIS post… whooaaaa, was your mind just blown? ;)

Have a great Thursday!

xx

e

Leave a Reply

