Vive le Vendredi: Putting Self-Care on the Schedule

2014-05-09 09.33.57
Happy Friday, friends. What are you doing this weekend to take care of yourself?
Not the question you expected?
We all have good intentions for taking care of ourselves, but life happens.  Life is hectic, and oftentimes we are flying by the seat of our pants down the road of chaos which, as we all know, is one paved with good intentions. That’s where a little planning ahead comes in handy. We’ve all heard of the tip to “put it on the calendar” when it comes to planning your gym routine in order to make it there three times a week, or even for things like flossing or scrubbing the toilets (what, I’m the only one?). For things like these, it’s perfectly acceptable to give yourself a little reminder, so why should it be any different for self-care? I’m not just talking about shaving your legs and trimming your nose hairs, people… I’m talking giving yourself  a weekly 30 minutes of uninterrupted me-time indulgence, whether it’s a self-manicure at home, a mud mask, maybe a massage or a facial or a pedicure or a wax if your budget allows, or even simply 30 minutes behind a closed door to get lost in a couple chapters of a good book with a glass of wine and some dark chocolate. To some it may seem selfish, or too self-indulgent, but self-care is like meditation.  It helps you relax, clears your head, and keeps you sane – and we all need it… regularly.  But make no mistake, scheduling 30 minutes of self-care once a week shouldn’t take the place of daily meditation or yoga practice or gym time; this is supposed to be a little indulgent.
So what’s it look like?
On Friday nights, after a week full of studying and travel and work around the house, Tim and I like to veg out in front of the TV and laugh our faces off at a handful of episodes of Modern Family (we live a crazy life these days, right?I), so I decided that my self-care would roll into these nights.  It’s already time I’m spending doing something mindless and something that feels good for me at the end of the week, so why not take it up a notch and make it even better?  For the next month, I’ve plotted out self-manicures, -pedicures (while I can still reach my feet), and facial masks to which I can treat myself during a Modern Family marathon or movie night or whatever other crazy married-and-pregnant madness we may be into on Friday night.
How to make this an easier habit to form?
Be prepared! Seriously. Otherwise, it won’t happen. A while ago, I took a tip from Jess Lively’s post on clutter-free living and made myself a pretty little manicure box that I keep stashed neatly under my bathroom sink, ready to go at a moment’s notice for occasions such as my Friday night manis. My toiletry box (an idea I stole borrowed from Jenny at HeartOrganizing) is a home for facial creams and masks and other little beauties that I can also access easily for a Friday night treatment.

2014-05-09 09.26.14

Pretty sure I scored that cute little box for less than $5 at TJ Maxx, FYI.

IMG_0994

Yes, Tim gets his own. For the record, there are like three things in there… and I’m pretty sure one is an empty jar of shaving cream. Whatever, IT LOOKS NICE.

I can almost hear the eye-rolls of the moms out there who think I’m in for a rude awakening in 5 months when the peanut arrives. Sure, things will look different when I’m a new mom, I’m well aware. Laugh at me now, but I’m hoping Tim will be able to pull it together to give me 30 minutes to myself once a week for a soak in the tub… and a glass of wine!
One rule I have for self-care me-time?  Keep it computer/cell phone-free.  That’s right, even if 30 minutes of mindless scrolling through Pinterest or Facebook or Houzz or tumblr would make your day, resist the urge.  Most of us look at a computer often enough during the day, so spending another half-hour tiring out your eyes and hunching over your desk will not be nearly as nourishing to your soul as a nice soak in a warm bath or a foot rub will be.  Give yourself a break… and enjoy it!
2014-05-09 09.00.45

… even if it just means hiding under a blanket for half an hour… I don’t judge! ;)

 
 
xx
e
Leave a Reply

