Post-Travel Craving: JUICE

We had an awesome trip trekking up to the Blue Ridge Mountains of North Carolina for a cousin’s wedding this past weekend. I took zero pictures which has me feeling kind of bummed. I know there will be plenty of wedding pics surfacing on Facebook over the next few days, but I’m mostly bumming over the pics of the cute little secret breakfast spot we found or the hidden gem of a pub serving up eggplant fries in a pool of tarragon honey mustard (YUM) that I didn’t take. I suppose in the moment, the lack of photos was my attempt at being present, really experiencing the rare weekend away with Tim and our family and taking it all in. Okay… I take it back, no regrets.

2014-06-22 09.52.48

This was the singular photo I took over the weekend. It’s the stone pathway back to the secret-garden-like breakfast spot we discovered… and I only took it because I want to recreate a stone path like this in our backyard. I’m pathetic, I know.

Weekend travel makes me thirsty. Seriously. Hours in a car trying to make as few stops as possible means limiting my normal generous intake of water, and what feels like limited access to filtered water while staying in a hotel room, not to mention consumption of some extra-salty foods that aren’t typically in my day-to-day meal plan (fried cheese, anyone?), leave me feeling parched and puffy upon return to real life. 

I got in about 60 ounces of water in the afternoon once we returned, but I woke up this morning thirsty as ever. Enter fresh summer watermelon and a convenient need to clean out the produce nearest wilting in my fridge.

2014-06-23 09.08.14

This particular concoction included some hydrating veggies like romaine, cucumber, and celery, along with some bright (and lower-sugar) fruits like lemon, lime, and green apple. Add in a few carrots (I didn’t have the white ones this time) and a little mint, and the color of the resulting mixture appeared a little less than appetizing. It was delish, though! Proof that juice doesn’t always have to be pretty to taste amazing and fresh.

2014-06-23 09.14.48

Just because it looks like I filled this glass from the marsh behind our house doesn’t mean I did.

I always cut my juice by mixing in some cold, filtered water. And though it’s best to consume your juice right away, I just make sure I keep it covered in the fridge and drink it all the same day I make it in order to avoid loss of nutrients. You can read more about my adventures in juice here.

2014-06-23 09.13.05

This one was a little more Instagram-worthy… the frothy goodness before I stirred! Taste the rainbow!

Cheers!

erin

Leave a Reply

