On Blogging, or… Not Blogging

Okay, so do I ignore the fact that it’s been almost three months since my last post? Do I even need to start this post with an apology? I feel like in the past year, I’ve had at least half a dozen posts start with something along the lines of “sorry it’s been so long since my last post…” followed by a promise of more regular posts and lots of exciting future posts lined up, blah blah. But let’s be real: life happens. I’m a real person and I have flaws, not the least of which is my non-ability to adhere to a strict blogging schedule for your reading pleasure. Sorry! While I love blogging, sometimes it takes a backseat to the rest of my life… which sucks because I get so much pleasure out of writing and posting (regardless of the feedback, or lack thereof), that I really should make an effort to cultivate and nurture the habit.

Came across this post in my feed this morning (because I’m still somewhat of a regular reader, and always feel more inspired after filling my cup with a dose of Camp Patton or Swanky and Dapper or some other favorite)… from zenhabits: The Biggest Reasons You Haven’t Changed Your Habits.

Aka: Good morning, Erin, this post is for you.

Let’s take a moment, shall we? In fact, YOU take a moment – go read it, then come back, and we’ll discuss.

The first three reasons for failure listed in Leo’s post are the biggest for me, personally, and seem to be for people I work with regarding nutritional therapy, too.

1. Not changing your habit environment. This is a biggie. Set yourself up for success. For me (and for most people) it means, for example, if you know you’re watching your sugar intake, don’t buy the ice cream and pretend you’re just going to have a small spoonful of it every now and then. Why even have it in your house? If you’re cutting grains, don’t buy bread! Don’t torture yourself! Change your environment: clean out your fridge, your freezer, your cupboards, and only stock your kitchen with whole, nutrient-dense foods you won’t feel guilty about putting into your body.

2. Expecting comfort. Change is not comfortable. Change freaks people out. But you’ve got to understand that anything worth having – that goal that you want so badly to accomplish – takes some effort on your part and it’s not going to be easy. We all have aspects of our life we want to change, but the real challenge comes in taking the necessary steps to get there. We want to lose weight, exercise more, be stronger, be healthier, save money, go on trips, have hobbies, spend more time with friends, cook more, read more, write more, get more out of each day, live a full life. It takes a little planning and commitment on our part, and the action items themselves are not necessarily difficult… it’s just the getting started, the act of doing something differently than you are used to, changing your comfortable routine, that is the most uncomfortable part. You have to start somewhere.

vangogh

3. Not starting small. I am notorious for biting off more than I can chew when it comes to setting goals or having a plan to develop a new habit. Especially when it comes to blogging. Haven’t blogged for months? That’s it! I’m going to blog every day for the next week. Monday, great. Tuesday, I have a topic, but it’s a little forced. Wednesday, crap, I have lost all zest for writing and this sounds like phony baloney garbage. Forget it, I’ll start up again when I feel inspired… *crickets*… three months later… I’M BACK AND I’M GOING TO BLOG EVERY DAY! *Insert side-eye emoticon here.* It’s just not realistic, nor is it sustainable. Habits take time to create and to grow… and to maintain! Attempting to climb Mount Everest or run a marathon on a whim without the proper training is just asking to be disappointed. I know better, and so do you.

That being said, I’m going to start small, today. Currently, my plate is full. I’m eight months pregnant; I own a house in one state and I’m currently (though temporarily) living out of a suitcase in another; I’m attempting to map out yet another move, to yet another state… and that’s just the tip of the iceberg. Oh, and did I mention I’m about to have a baby in four weeks? Possibly (hopefully) less? Yeah, there’s that. So there may be a few other things taking precedence over the Diaries. Still, I want to make time for it. Maybe if I don’t set the blogging bar so high in the first place, maybe if I set myself up for success by mapping out time each week, maybe if I get comfortable with being uncomfortable… maybe, just maybe, you’ll be graced with a little more of my wit and wisdom here on the Heyday Diaries. ;)

See you soon, but not too soon…

xx

e

erinyoga

3 thoughts on “On Blogging, or… Not Blogging

Leave a Reply

